A League of Our Own - The Cymru Premier Story 19

    Delivery time:Out 16 November 2023
Add to cart
  • Description

‘a comprehensive account of the competition from its origins through three decades, supported by many first-hand recollections and reflections … authoritative and objective … well-researched … whether you have been closely involved in the national league, or followed it from afar, there’s likely to be plenty for you in these pages.’
Welsh Football Magazine

‘an important chronicle of our footballing history, highlighting the good and the bad and getting under the skin of our national league, making a good read for anybody interested in the top flight of our domestic game.’
International Wales

A League of Our Own features over 20 exclusive interviews with many of the key characters who played significant roles in the formation and development of the competition:

Trefor Lloyd Hughes (ex-FAW Council)
John Deakin (ex-L of Wales Secretary)
Gwyn Derfel (ex-Cymru Premier General Manager)
Norman Parselle (Cwmbr
ân Town)
Nigel Adkins (Bangor City FC)
Marc Lloyd Williams (LoW Top Scorer)
Darren Ryan (Barry Town)
Mike Harris (Owner, The New Saints)
Jamie Moralee (Barry Town FC)
Neville Southall (Everton & Wales)
Rhys Griffiths (Llanelli FC)
Greg Strong (Rhyl FC)
Craig Garside (Bangor City FC)
Craig Harrison (TNS & Connah’s Quay)
Gavin Chesterfield (Barry Town)
Chris O’Neal (Fan, Bangor City)
Dave Rapson (Connah’s Quay Nomads)
Jamie Insall (Connah’s Quay Nomads)
Nicky John (Sgorio, S4C)
Alex Ramsay (Bala Town FC)


1 How the Land Lay

2 A League of Our Own

3 When The Crows Soared

4 Back-To-Back Bangor

5 The Professionals

6 The Company Men

7 A New Era Dawns

8 Rise and Fall

9 Dancing in The Streets

10 A Town Painted Red

11 The Dream Team

12 The Super 12

13 The Best of Bangor

14 The (New) Saints March On

15 Dragons Reborn

16 Shattered Dreams

17 The Rise of The Nomads

18 The State of Play


A League of Our Own is the first book to tell the remarkable story of the establishment and 30-year history of the League of Wales, which was rebranded as the Welsh Premier League in 2010 and the Cymru Premier in 2019.

The League of Wales kicked-off its inaugural season in 1992 in a state of triumph and trepidation. Establishing the league was a huge step forward for Welsh club football, but with the country’s 11 biggest clubs - including the ‘Irate Eight’ - refusing to take part, it was also a time of court cases, friction and distrust between the governing body and many of its member clubs.

Meticulously researched and written by freelance football journalist Mark Langshaw, The Cymru Premier Story contains over 90 illustrations, final league tables for every season and appendices that detail the league’s most successful clubs, top scorers, average attendances, and European representatives.

Related Products